Project of Energy
Project of Energy Podcast
PoE #2: Robbie Salter and his DTC startup Jupiter
1
0:00
-28:17

PoE #2: Robbie Salter and his DTC startup Jupiter

On why it's imperative that we all scratch that itch to launch that dream project - and why it's still ok if it that project turns out to be just a step in your career.
1

I wanted to talk to Robbie Salter because from what I could recollect, he had a career that was doing great: he was working in the big city (NYC) at a company everyone knew (Medialink). He and his wife were also preparing for the arrival of their first child - so there was no need to rock the boat.

But Robbie had an itch - an itch that he really needed to scratch. 

For many of us, we dream about changing things up, about doing something new but circumstances hold us back. Sometimes we think we don’t have the idea baked enough, sometimes we’re unsure how to  make & sell a product, and sometimes life is just a little too good to risk it all.

Since I started my own business, I’ve met a lot of people with new ideas but few find a way to just get started. For a short while, Robbie seemed to be one of those - he had told me that he had been planning something and I waited…. but then the pandemic came and in the chaos he found the courage to launch the Jupiter haircare brand.

In this interview, he’ll share his story from corner office to DTC start up. He’ll talk about the moment he realized he needed to make a change, the motivations behind his new company Jupiter and why he thinks it’s an imperative that we all pursue projects of energy. 

I hope you’ll find this story of invention and reinvention inspiring - Piers

Piers Fawkes

My PoE: PSFK | Retail Innovation Week | Wallkit | Project of Energy

1 Comment
Project of Energy
Project of Energy Podcast
This is a newsletter from culture and creative business observer Piers Fawkes (me). Previously called ‘Distracted’, I’ve evolved the theme around a title ‘Project of Energy’ - where I interview people who run projects of energy. I want to understand those projects but I also want to understand the personal motivations. Ultimately, I hope to share inspirational stories around invention and reinvention.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Piers Fawkes